VoiceGuide IVR Software Main Page

Vbscript Problem

Hello,

I hope someone can help me, I am new to Voiceguide and VB scripting I am trying to run a script that does the following

A user Inputs a 5 digit or more code, program looks up an excel spreadsheet, if Input is 5

digits it looks up column 1, if more than 5 looks up colum 2. If empty cell encountered it's a fail, if number found success.

Later I want to ammend program so if number found a value stored in column 3 will be returned to program.

I have attached the program for you to look at.

Thanks in advance

Dim xlApp, xlBook, xlSht 
Dim filename, value1, value2

filename = "C:\Test.xls"

Set xlApp = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
Set vg = CreateObject("vgservices.commandlink")
set xlBook = xlApp.WorkBooks.Open(filename)
set xlSht = xlApp.ActiveSheet

vg.Admin_TraceLogAdd 0, 0, "This Trace was printed from an external VB Script"
Set vg=Nothing

strValueEnteredByCaller = $RVSecurity Code
if len(strValueEnteredByCaller) = 5 then
iColumn = 1
else
iColumn = 2
end if

'scan through all entries until match found or a blank cell is reached
i = 1
while xlSht.Cells(i, iColumn) <> strValueEnteredByCaller and xlSht.Cells(i, iColumn) <> ""
i = i + 1
wend

if xlSht.Cells(i, iColumn) = "" then
vg.Run_ResultReturn $RV_LINEID, "fail"
Set vg=Nothing

else
vg.Run_ResultReturn $RV_LINEID, "success"
Set vg=Nothing

end if
xlBook.Close False
xlApp.Quit

'always deallocate after use...
set xlSht = Nothing 
Set xlBook = Nothing
Set xlApp = Nothing
Set vg=Nothing

What is the actual problem with the script?

It's best to add more vg.Admin_TraceLogAdd calls in the script. This way you will be able to trace how the script is executing and narrow down any problem areas. The Admin_TraceLogAdd function places log entries in the vgEngine log file.