VoiceGuide IVR Software Main Page

New And Completely Ignorant To Ivr Systems.

I have no experience with IVR systems and zero knowledge about telephone systems in general. Please bear with my stupid questions.

I am looking forward to buy the Voice Guide enterprise 4 line (I guess that’s the one I will need to suit my requirements). But before that I have some very very basic questions.

1) If i need the IVR system to support 4 simultaneous calls, does that mean I need 4 different telephone lines ? (I’m not using PBX)

2) If I use PBX, say I have one line but 4 extensions, will that support 4 simultaneous calls.

The call flow that I am looking for is as follows:

"Welcome to xyz company. Dial 1 to speak to an attendant or 2 to get product details"

If caller dials 1: The call is transferred to a telephone used by a receptionist.

If caller dials 2: The caller is asked to enter a 'product number' (up to 16 digits). This product number (primary key) is used to access a MySQL database to retrieve the details about the product (name,size,cost etc) which is then 'spoken out' to the caller (here I will have to use TTS right?)

3) So now I need one more telephone line for the receptionist right?

4) Will the voice prompts (such as the welcome message) have to be recorded by myself ?

I think the telephone line is a PSTN line (that's the basic telephone line in residential and office areas right)

Before I purchase your software or download the trial version, I want to make sure I have the necessary hardware.

5) So i need a dialogic telephony card. Lets say i get a 4 port D/4PCIU Dialogic card. Now 4 ports means it can support up to 4 simultaneous calls? Do i still need 4 different telephone lines or just 1?

6) This card would fit into the PCI slot on my computers motherboard right?

7) Now how do I connect my telephone to this card ?

Thank you for your help in advance.

regards,

Frequency.